Xinpheld�s Soapbox


Other Diarists
Mimi Smartypants
Unquiet Desperation
mistresslink
WWdN: In Exile
Duffiemoon
julival
KB Lincoln








NaNoWriMo 2006 Participant

xinpheld. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr


navigation
current
archives
profile
surveys
Nine-Toed Friends

extras
links
rings
H*R
Common Dreams

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Xinpheld's Shopbox - CafePress Happiness!!

I Didn't Drink What?
2007-01-31, 15:46

Another Socrates even passes, and one again I managed to keep myself from getting as drunk as I wanted to be. It must be wine, which is all (and everyone else who was drinking) that was available, alcoholwise. Probably not a bad thing, because who wants to be the fall-down drunk at an intellectual social event?

Sheesh, I make it sound like I actually drink often. I'm lucky if I get my drunk on more than twice a year. Maybe that's why I'm so tense so often.

Anyway, this Socrates, like last year's around this time, was mainly an event to blow off the steam that builds up over the holidays and the back-to-the-grind that ensues at the beginning of the New Year. There was at least one decent discussion of true philosophical merit (if there were others, please forgive my misremembering and feel free to correct me), and it was initiated by, of all people, yours truly. At least I think I started it (again, correct me if I err); maybe I was drunker than I realized. The topic was, generally, where the split between male and female happened in a religious sense, and why; where the female aspect of religion went; and ultimately, the nature of belief. It was more than could be encompassed in our little discussion and I definitely wish to explore the topic more. When things tended toward religious belief, I think we started to get a little gun shy and erring toward protecting feelings about matters. We were trying not to sound condescending or dismissive, which is fine. But it tended to keep up from going more in depth. Maybe with some further discussion the parameters could be a little more clarified and it wouldn't seem so much like walking through a minefield. And since I know only on person who studied religion (well two, but I'm not about to tackle my brother on this), it'd be nice if another discussion took place. You know who you are; and maybe you could make some intelligent conversation - rather than Toddler Speak - before the next Socrates. I know, it's crazy talk, the adult conversation. Just an idea.

I definitely need some more social interaction before I lose the ability altogether. Talking with my wife isn't the same: while we have intelligent discussions, there's times when we know what each other is saying without having to say it, and that's interpersonal, not social. Plus, we have the terrible opportunity to inject things like, "did you pay the cable bill?" into our discussions, and that's no fun at all. Does that sound right? Because I both love and like my wife, beyond words. But that's the problem-- 'beyond words'. While words are sometimes not necessary, it's not conducive to social skills, an area in which can always use vast improvement.

Hey, look -- a whole entry where I didn't mention the baby! Oh, wait... dang.

-- End Transmission --


Reading:
Lila, sequel to Zen

Hearing:
damn the 70's!

Feeling:
damn the 70's!




CURRENT TERROR ALERT LEVEL:
Terror Alert Level

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


The Recent Past

In Rainbows - 2008-02-19
DnD 4.0 Goes Web 2.0 - 2008-02-05
Religion Quiz - 2008-01-22
Song Idea - 2008-01-18
Oughta Be In Pictures - 2007-11-29


Who links to me?








last - next