Xinpheld�s Soapbox


Other Diarists
Mimi Smartypants
Unquiet Desperation
mistresslink
WWdN: In Exile
Duffiemoon
julival
KB Lincoln








NaNoWriMo 2006 Participant

xinpheld. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr


navigation
current
archives
profile
surveys
Nine-Toed Friends

extras
links
rings
H*R
Common Dreams

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Xinpheld's Shopbox - CafePress Happiness!!

DnD 4.0 Goes Web 2.0
2008-02-05, 15:17

I was dubious about yet another revision of the Dungeons and Dragons system, but this little vid has made me a little less so:

Here's hoping it's not full of too many bugs at the outset. I've been dreaming about something like this for years. Maybe it'll be just the thing to get me back into gaming again. Ever since The Girl has started playing, I've had the Jones for it. The one thing I'm wary of is virtual dice. What fun is gaming if you can't roll for yourself? Computers will never be random enough, and you can't have a 'save' die separate from your 'attack' die.

It's been vast fun trying to impart some of my gaming wisdom to The Girl over the last couple of weeks. We all know how teenagers love to respect imparted wisdom from their elders. One of the first things I told her after she told me she was going to be in a campaign was, "It's hard to keep a campaign together." I was lucky enough to be in one back in the day that lasted a little over a year. She was all, "no way, dude," and was unbendingly confident that her campaign would last for the better part of this century. It may surprise you to know that in actuality, it lasted for a whole of one session. One thing she has been getting, though, is character creation practice. By the look of her latest character, I can also see that she's already getting into numbers manipulation, if the ludicrous amount of 17's in her stats is any indication. Good girl. Now if she could just figure out that the needs actual supplies other than her weapons and armour...

Believe it or not, she already breached the idea of getting me to maybe play with her and her friends. The idea sounds amusing at best, maddening/infuriating at worst. But I see it as an opportunity to maybe impart an idea of what gaming is supposed to be like. I get the impression that most of the kids involved are coming to D&D from the RPG/MMORPG direction. Neverwinter Nights and WoW are no substitute for tabletop (or possibly Virtual Tabletop!) gaming.

-- End of Line --


Reading:
my Google Reader

Hearing:
In Rainbows

Feeling:
tired




CURRENT TERROR ALERT LEVEL:
Terror Alert Level

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


The Recent Past

In Rainbows - 2008-02-19
DnD 4.0 Goes Web 2.0 - 2008-02-05
Religion Quiz - 2008-01-22
Song Idea - 2008-01-18
Oughta Be In Pictures - 2007-11-29


Who links to me?








last - next