Xinpheld�s Soapbox


Other Diarists
Mimi Smartypants
Unquiet Desperation
mistresslink
WWdN: In Exile
Duffiemoon
julival
KB Lincoln








NaNoWriMo 2006 Participant

xinpheld. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr


navigation
current
archives
profile
surveys
Nine-Toed Friends

extras
links
rings
H*R
Common Dreams

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Xinpheld's Shopbox - CafePress Happiness!!

Song Idea
2008-01-18, 09:54

You know, it's times like these when I wish I had a full compliment of musicians at my disposal, or at least the ability to play a multitude of different instruments myself - not all at the same time, of course; people with that many arms are just plain ol' show-offs (yeah, I'm lookin' at you, Bodhisattva).

I was hearing the song over the work PA system, and I realized in a flash that I want to hear a bluegrass version of Peter Gabriel's 'In Your Eyes', with banjo, guitar, bass, and a fiddle to emulate the stylized-vocal part of the song at the end. In my head, it's wonderful, in a Sunday morning, NPR-kitsch kind of way.

Then my brain says 'Google, stupid!' and wouldn't you know it, someone did it. I must hear this thing. I just wrote them an email to see if they can hook me up with a copy.

The wife and I spent a chunk of last evening working out The Cure's 'Pictures of You' (per her request) on ukulele and mandolin. Sounds good so far, but I think it needs a stand-up bass to really round out the song.

H took the day off to be with the kids because there's no school, and I'm feeling jealous that I have to be at work while they're going to get to actually enjoy the day. I considered calling in sick, but with three kids, you've got to conserve your off time. You never know what's going to come up that demands a half-hearted call to HR at 6am.

-- End of Line --


Reading:
reading=time≠something I have

Hearing:
see above entry

Feeling:





CURRENT TERROR ALERT LEVEL:
Terror Alert Level

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


The Recent Past

In Rainbows - 2008-02-19
DnD 4.0 Goes Web 2.0 - 2008-02-05
Religion Quiz - 2008-01-22
Song Idea - 2008-01-18
Oughta Be In Pictures - 2007-11-29


Who links to me?








last - next