Xinpheld�s Soapbox


Other Diarists
Mimi Smartypants
Unquiet Desperation
mistresslink
WWdN: In Exile
Duffiemoon
julival
KB Lincoln








NaNoWriMo 2006 Participant

xinpheld. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr


navigation
current
archives
profile
surveys
Nine-Toed Friends

extras
links
rings
H*R
Common Dreams

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Xinpheld's Shopbox - CafePress Happiness!!

Birdie - 1, Phil - 0
2007-02-02, 14:14

This morning I realized how much our senses have expectations on our environment and seasonal changes.

I had just been at work for maybe a half hour, and was settling in, when I heard something by which I was totally thrown off - a bird. And not just any bird, but one you'd normally not hear until spring: I don't know the name of the species, but its call had the tones of a doorbell, but sounded more like a creaking seesaw (or do you prefer teeter-totter?) or porch swing. It's a sound you'd take for granted and probably not even notice were it warmer and sunny outside. But it stuck out like a sore thumb today, with the high temp getting to no more than 20°F (and a high of 7° by Sunday, ack).

As sympathetic and laden with anthropomorphic tendencies as I am, I couldn't help but think of the situation as saddening, what with a spring/summer bird lost and alone in the depths of winter, desperate and calling for help, confused by an environment changing in ways it shouldn't.

But there's another part that couldn't help but think of it as a sign that winder is on its way out. Which is pretty wrong in itself, considering it only recently just got here. I have a hard time complaining about the minimal (so far - knock, knock) snowfall, as we have no snow blower and a long (for suburbia) driveway, but still, it's just odd. And to compliment Mother Nature on her skills in irony, I just looked out the window to see a pretty decent snowfall starting up. Way to go, Gaia.

The main thing, I guess, is that the little lost singing bird got me thinking about - and looking forward to - spring. It seems to me that that's an appropriate thing, especially since it's Groundhog Day. Maybe it was trying to show Phil up and make a grassroots effort to become the new portent of fairer weather. Right now it's got my vote, so unless Phil sends me some sort to gift bag promotional thing in order to keep my interest, he's on his way out. Watch your back Phil! Punxsutawny ain't got nothin' on the Cuyahoga river valley. Yo.

Just got back from a pleasant addition to the day - lunch with H. She took a sanity day and took part of it to drive out here for some Taco Bell with her husband. Which proves that she does need a sanity day, because if she wants to spend any extra time with me, she must be crazy.

-- End Transmission --


Reading:
Lila. No actual reading today - damn you, wife!

Hearing:
the new Norah Jones album. It makes me want to walk down a dirt road on a summer day

Feeling:
some post-lunch perkiness




CURRENT TERROR ALERT LEVEL:
Terror Alert Level

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


The Recent Past

In Rainbows - 2008-02-19
DnD 4.0 Goes Web 2.0 - 2008-02-05
Religion Quiz - 2008-01-22
Song Idea - 2008-01-18
Oughta Be In Pictures - 2007-11-29


Who links to me?








last - next