Xinpheld�s Soapbox


Other Diarists
Mimi Smartypants
Unquiet Desperation
mistresslink
WWdN: In Exile
Duffiemoon
julival
KB Lincoln








NaNoWriMo 2006 Participant

xinpheld. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr


navigation
current
archives
profile
surveys
Nine-Toed Friends

extras
links
rings
H*R
Common Dreams

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Xinpheld's Shopbox - CafePress Happiness!!

Nice To Be Missed
2006-01-05, 08:53

I just got a call from H a little bit ago. She was getting ready to leave for work but called me - because the baby was looking for me.

I got the rare occasion this morning of seeing the tot awake before leaving for work myself at the ungodly hour that I do, because she was woken up by a certain person's alarm clock going off four times. Luckily, she was her wonderful little self, as usual. She didn't squawk at all about getting up earlier than usual, though she did look a bit confused, both by the hour and by her fuzzier-than-usual attendant (a.k.a. me). But after a zippy diaper change (btw - we'll not be using Pampers again [it was a purchase of desperation], because the one she was wearing last night actually tore from bursting, and she had those little clear absorbency crystal thingies on her leg. No way that's happening again), she was perky and playful. And she only spent about 10 seconds looking for "Ma ma ma ma ma ma..."

I was worried that I wouldn't be able to get out the door on time, since I still had to make my breakfast, make tea and feed the bah bahs (cats), but the baby was content to chill out on her Dora couch and peruse some of her newly received baby literature, in the form of board books. She alternated between that, hunting down and sucking on her woobie, and following the bah bahs around, and seemed completely content to let me go about my morning preparations. Awfully nice of her, I must say. And when I was ready to go I took her to her mommy and left the two of them snuggling in bed, though the baby seemed miffed that I was leaving.

Anyway, the call. It's H, saying that someone wanted to talk to me, and it was the baby. Apparently she saw my pants lying on the floor in our bedroom (yes, I'll pick them up when I get home, sheesh), and got upset that I wasn't around. She said not a word as I said hello and other phrases familiar to her, but H said after that she was smiling and rapt in attention. Yay. Baby likes me!

Things like this help to offset those days when it's all about mommy for her. H says it's normal for tots this age to cling to their mothers, but it's hard no to take it personally when she often insists on being held by her mother in lieu of me. And anyway, sure she's clinging to mommy's side now, but when she's three, on who's lap is she going to be insisting on sitting? That's right...

... Santa's. Sigh.

-- End Transmission --


Reading:


Hearing:


Feeling:





CURRENT TERROR ALERT LEVEL:
Terror Alert Level

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


The Recent Past

In Rainbows - 2008-02-19
DnD 4.0 Goes Web 2.0 - 2008-02-05
Religion Quiz - 2008-01-22
Song Idea - 2008-01-18
Oughta Be In Pictures - 2007-11-29


Who links to me?








last - next