Xinpheld�s Soapbox


Other Diarists
Mimi Smartypants
Unquiet Desperation
mistresslink
WWdN: In Exile
Duffiemoon
julival
KB Lincoln








NaNoWriMo 2006 Participant

xinpheld. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr


navigation
current
archives
profile
surveys
Nine-Toed Friends

extras
links
rings
H*R
Common Dreams

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Xinpheld's Shopbox - CafePress Happiness!!

Hell Week Cometh
2004-03-01,

I said goodbye to my family as I walked out the door this morning. �See you this weekend!� said I.

It�s tech week for Li�l Abner, which means a week of long, late rehearsals getting ready for Friday�s opening. For me, this means going straight from work, grabbing something to eat along the way, to the theatre. Luckily, I got to see the 6-year-old this morning before I left for work; I won�t be seeing him at all this week, as he wakes up when I leave in the morning and he�ll be in bed long before I get home from rehearsal. Gosh, it�ll be just like the old days at Prestige.

But it�s only for a week. I can handle a week. It�s just that I�d finally started getting used to being home at a decent hour in the evenings and now� well, it�s still only a week. I just need to make sure and get some sleep, or I�m not going to make it to Sunday�s matinee healthy. H tells me she�s not going to get mad at me for not being home this week and forcing her to �do everything�. She tells me that she�s happy that I�m putting my talent to use for a change. But I also think that she�s going to be in a terrible mood somewhere toward the end of the week. I just hope things go smoothly �round the house, otherwise there�ll be hell to pay.

The other problem that will arise from this week will be my patronage to fast food, as I�m going to be eating on the fly. Sure I could pack a dinner, but that�s not something I�ll be interested in doing either at 7am or 11p, the only times that will be available to do so. Not to mention I�ll have no way to warm up anything, so whatever it is will have to be cold. And I�ll have to worry about keeping track of food containers. I�ve got enough on my mind already, without having to try and cope with all that jazz. Thus, I shall hang my moral code outside the window for a little while and treat �fast food� like it should be treated- as a convenience item, rather than a way of life.

Then again, I could pick something up at the Mustard Seed on my way home and actually eat healthyish; a more expensive and time-consuming option, to be sure, but worth considering. I guess I�ll have to see how the week progresses and test the time-management waters. Which is something at which I am so very good. Ahem.

I was quite irked last night when I didn�t get home from rehearsal until 1045pm, thus missing the greater part of the Oscars. Call it a sinful pleasure if you like, but I always watch. For a long time I associated watching the event with moving, as March oft ended up being the month that a rental contract would be up for renewal and one circumstance or another, usually falling under the category of roommate changes, would precipitate moving to a new locale. Starting from about �90 and finishing at 2000, when we moved into our house, I�d moved a total of nine times. Most of those times were around the end of March, which was, up until recently, Oscar time. So it was boxes all over the place, Chinese food eaten on a milk crate and Oscar night. It was kind of a tradition.

I did manage to get home in time for the big awards, though. Not to mention a spectacular performance by Eugene Levy and Catherine O�Hara and a smashing presentation of the award for Best Score by Jack Black and Will Ferrell. Apparently I did miss Michael Moore getting stomped by an oliphant. But hey, that�s what the internet is for.

-- End Transmission --


Reading:


Hearing:


Feeling:





CURRENT TERROR ALERT LEVEL:
Terror Alert Level

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


The Recent Past

In Rainbows - 2008-02-19
DnD 4.0 Goes Web 2.0 - 2008-02-05
Religion Quiz - 2008-01-22
Song Idea - 2008-01-18
Oughta Be In Pictures - 2007-11-29


Who links to me?








last - next