Xinpheld�s Soapbox


Other Diarists
Mimi Smartypants
Unquiet Desperation
mistresslink
WWdN: In Exile
Duffiemoon
julival
KB Lincoln








NaNoWriMo 2006 Participant

xinpheld. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr


navigation
current
archives
profile
surveys
Nine-Toed Friends

extras
links
rings
H*R
Common Dreams

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Xinpheld's Shopbox - CafePress Happiness!!

We Put the 'D' in 'Fridge'
2004-01-21,

Oh happy half & half.

One of the boons of my current jorb is free tea. It�s only Lipton (I prefer Red Rose, myself), but hey, free tea. Not complaining. The problem is that there�s only the nasty powdered coffee creamer on hand for lightening up hot beverages, and I like my tea in the English fashion, except stronger (if it hasn�t steeped for at least 10 minutes, it�s not worth drinking). And as we all know, powdered coffee creamer is, well, nasty.

So why not bring in your own creamery type item, you ask? Well, being an office as it is, it�s got the typical refrigerator rules, i.e. you can�t leave stuff in the fridge over the weekend.

Author�s Aside: Why is there a �d� in �fridge�, when there isn�t one in �refrigerator�? I mean, I know why it�s in the short version- �frige� is pronounced /freezh/, which is just plain old wrong. So why not put the �d� in �refrigerator�? Let�s try it: �Refridgerator.� It doesn�t seem to change the pronunciation any. All right, time to start the worldwide campaign to change �refrigerator� to �refridgerator�. Please start by manually editing every dictionary you have (I�ve just added it to my Word dictionary, so the squiggly red line goes away). And drop a line to Webster�s, if you have the time.

As I�m a notoriously forgetful person, I�d end up wasting a good three-quarters of my half & half (try adding that one up) because I wouldn�t remember that it was left behind until I was well on my way home from work on Friday.

I�m going to make the attempt, however, because I just brought some with me today. And oh, what a difference it makes. Tea is good again, even the Lipton. I�m sure that around this time on Monday I�ll be kicking myself for this foolish endeavour. The only other cure for the situation would be to get one of those little desktop refridgerators that you can find at Target or your local [you choose]-Mart. I just don�t want to be one of those people.

* * *

Meanwhile, there�s some good news: H has finally figured out what her Super Power should be. What, you don�t know what your Super Power is? Well then, take a minute or ten and think about it. If you were a superhero(ine), what would you like your main Super Power to be? And don�t feel like you have to �stay in the box� as far as powers are concerned. I�ll hold off until tomorrow to tell you what H�s and mine are, so as not to taint your thinking process. Your Power should be your own. And please, feel free to share your answer with the rest of the class, either by email or comment.

-- End Transmission --


Reading:


Hearing:


Feeling:





CURRENT TERROR ALERT LEVEL:
Terror Alert Level

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


The Recent Past

In Rainbows - 2008-02-19
DnD 4.0 Goes Web 2.0 - 2008-02-05
Religion Quiz - 2008-01-22
Song Idea - 2008-01-18
Oughta Be In Pictures - 2007-11-29


Who links to me?








last - next