Xinpheld�s Soapbox


Other Diarists
Mimi Smartypants
Unquiet Desperation
mistresslink
WWdN: In Exile
Duffiemoon
julival
KB Lincoln








NaNoWriMo 2006 Participant

xinpheld. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr


navigation
current
archives
profile
surveys
Nine-Toed Friends

extras
links
rings
H*R
Common Dreams

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Xinpheld's Shopbox - CafePress Happiness!!

Purging via Karaoke
2004-01-19,

I'm feeling rather voiceless today, but in light of the fact that I haven't posted in five days, I'll write something (which may well amount to nothing, anyway).

This weekend was the big company office party, which was less than super spectacular. Well, I should say that it was kinda dull, really. The food (I had chicken marsala that, although good, wasn't very marsala-y and H had a yummy veggie/pasta thing) was really good, the live band was even better, and hey, free liquor. Though I certainly didn't get as blasted as I did at the previous holiday party. But then, I was avoiding embarrassing myself at this one, and H has been sick so she didn't drink at all. No walking on sunshine for her.

After dinner was a horrendous talent contest, featuring three of the 'best' that NIIC has to offer. Ack. The winner (who sang-- I can't even remember, thank god) got a $1000-valued weekend for two. If I'd been here for longer than a month, I would have participated and, quite frankly, blown them out of the water. But who likes the newbie that shows up veteran employees? A political move, to be sure. I think I'm better off lying low and then surprising people next year. Assuming they do it again next year. Here's hoping.

So to purge the badness from the unholy event, H and I went to karaoke at a local bar, where there were very few people except us and the guy who likes to sing songs with lots of swearing in it (ex. Adam Sandler's Ode to My Car). We got up to sing 3 times inside an hour and then went home. All in all, a decent night.

Yesterday was my nephew Wes's 2nd birthday. We got him a pair of carts for one of the coolest toddler toys out there, Music Blocks. I want one for myself.

Workday's almost done, time to go home to the whole family-- kids are with us tonight because their dad's got the pukey flu. Our house has seen enough od that this year, to quarantine is in effect. Yay for no pukey flu.

-- End Transmission --


Reading:


Hearing:


Feeling:





CURRENT TERROR ALERT LEVEL:
Terror Alert Level

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


The Recent Past

In Rainbows - 2008-02-19
DnD 4.0 Goes Web 2.0 - 2008-02-05
Religion Quiz - 2008-01-22
Song Idea - 2008-01-18
Oughta Be In Pictures - 2007-11-29


Who links to me?








last - next