Xinpheld�s Soapbox


Other Diarists
Mimi Smartypants
Unquiet Desperation
mistresslink
WWdN: In Exile
Duffiemoon
julival
KB Lincoln








NaNoWriMo 2006 Participant

xinpheld. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr


navigation
current
archives
profile
surveys
Nine-Toed Friends

extras
links
rings
H*R
Common Dreams

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Xinpheld's Shopbox - CafePress Happiness!!

Flu Servant
2004-01-13,

Call me the Flu Servant.

It�s that time of year, and there�s two sick females waiting for my return home, H and Hil (and yes, juli, she really is sick this time). H pretty much turned into a lump under a blanket on the couch in the traditional I�m-sick-so-I-get-to-watch-TV-all-day-and-drink-ginger-ale position. Hil was at her dad�s, but is probably right now also lying on the couch and moaning about the thing H has chosen to watch. And drinking ginger ale.

So call me the Flu Servant.

Don�t get me wrong; I like to take care of my family. I can make soup and toast and pour bubbly potables with the best of them. I dunno - it�s time-consuming. You finally manage to convince the sick person that she needs to just finally get in bed, and then suddenly your day is gone. But it�s not like it happens all that often, so I shouldn�t complain. And I don�t, even if H thinks that I�m being tortured by her sickness.

I guess I know how she feels, though; I certainly feel guilty about being sick. I don�t enjoy being the helpless object of caregiving. But then there�s something nice about it too. It�s a matter, I suppose, of enjoying the attention while not taking it for granted. And drinking ginger ale. Maybe soon, if I�m lucky, I�ll get to shiver under blankets in front of the TV all day. And drink ginger ale.

So call me the Flu Servant.

-- End Transmission --


Reading:


Hearing:


Feeling:





CURRENT TERROR ALERT LEVEL:
Terror Alert Level

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


The Recent Past

In Rainbows - 2008-02-19
DnD 4.0 Goes Web 2.0 - 2008-02-05
Religion Quiz - 2008-01-22
Song Idea - 2008-01-18
Oughta Be In Pictures - 2007-11-29


Who links to me?








last - next