Xinpheld�s Soapbox


Other Diarists
Mimi Smartypants
Unquiet Desperation
mistresslink
WWdN: In Exile
Duffiemoon
julival
KB Lincoln








NaNoWriMo 2006 Participant

xinpheld. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr


navigation
current
archives
profile
surveys
Nine-Toed Friends

extras
links
rings
H*R
Common Dreams

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Xinpheld's Shopbox - CafePress Happiness!!

Dream Dream Dream
2006-11-03, 10:51

Something I don't think I'd mentioned before was that I've been dreaming more lately. I must be sleeping better, because, although I don't really remember most of what I dreamed about, I haven't dreamed this much - or at least been so aware of it - since I was in my late teens. Hopefully I won't be so horribly out of practice and will start remembering them more as time goes on, assuming the trend continues.

Anyway, I woke up feeling awful this morning, because I had a terrible dream that involved heated arguing with my wife over something money related. I remember very little of the dream, which is okay by me, honestly, but I was left on waking with this pervasive feeling of anger, fear and sadness. I guess that constitutes a nightmare, something I have rarely had, even back when I was dreaming more. I was sitting there in bed, angry at H for things she was saying in my dream, which was completely stupid because it was my dream and it wasn't her fault or her doing. I had to force myself to let go of those emotions, because I knew they were all but artificial, which is a lot easier than it sounds. I'm much better now, save for a tension headache that I'm fighting off, but at the time it was wrenching. Stupid dream.

Something else I realized that I didn't follow up on was my whole wacky triple-number psychic phenomenon (click) that I had earlier this year. To recap, I was seeing triple numbers (111, 222, 333, etc.) everywhere; on clocks, computers, sales receipts, addresses, you name it. This kept up to one degree or another for another month after that entry, until Friday, February 24th, when the Mega Millions jackpot was estimated at - of course - 22 million. I had to play, naturally, because I realized that this was what all these numbers were leading up to. So I took ten dollars out of the bank and bought ten lottery entries, all automatically generated because everything up to this point had been out of my control anyway, so why not go with it. I even went to a gas station to buy them that had a sign showing their sale price for a pack of some brand of cigarettes at .22. The sign was a Sign.

You can guess, I assume, that I didn't win. As a matter of fact, I didn't get more than one number in any set. I was distraught and perplexed, because I thought for sure that something would come of it, even if it wasn't The Big Hit. But then it dawned on me, what it was that I should have done, and I went online to check the results and see if I was right. And I was. It was the Pick Three for that day: 111. That ten dollars could have bought nine (or ten? are there zeroes in the Pick Three?) straight sets of triple numbers, and I would have had... what's the payoff on that? Five hundred? Something like that. Certainly more than nothing, which was what I had. I could have kicked myself for not seeing the obvious. But then, I wasn't feeling very clear-headed that day, what, with the numbers buzzing through my head.

But even though I didn't win any money, I came away with the experience. Soon after the lottery, the triple numbers frequency died down to normal levels. I wasn't getting that auspicious feeling about them anymore. And I was left with a feeling that there was something to this. While I was reluctant to staple the word 'psychic' to it, I couldn't deny that something had happened, something between me and the universe that gave me the most infinitesimal glimpse of its machinations. But considering the mental/emotional condition I was in at the time - something to which my wife can attest - I'll pass on Cosmic Awareness in lieu of some semblance of sanity. There's no point in universal understanding if I have to sacrifice my ability to deal with it. Surely, this must explain why the supposedly truly psychic are, to some degree, whack jobs.

Thing three I didn't talk about was Halloween, which was spent with Laurana only. At her request, we dressed her up as Dora the Explorer. We got Backpack, a Boots doll for her to carry, some orange pants and a pink shirt, and she was all set. We really didn't expect to go very far, and we were right, in that we managed to go for the equivalent of almost a block with her before she got too tired to cope with being social.

At first she was shy around the candy-givers, and clutched the first pieces of candy she got like they were the last ones on earth, rather than storing them in Backpack like we'd planned. Eventually we got her to relinquish them before they got too melty, but each time she got a new bit of candy we'd have to talk her into giving those up too. And whenever we'd run into other beggars along the way that would look at her and say, "Oh, she's so keeeoooot!" Laurana would pull her candy she was clutching away and say, "No, no, no!" Clearly, she has some possessiveness issues. I'd worry if I didn't know that she likes to share, too.

Eventually, though, she got into the spirit if things. We got her saying "Tick Teet!" when we'd get to a new house, and then she's usually say "Tank...eoo," and my favorite, "Happy... Ween!" How adorable is that? Cutest baby ever.

-- End Transmission --


Reading:
tea leaves

Hearing:
voices

Feeling:
caffeinated




CURRENT TERROR ALERT LEVEL:
Terror Alert Level

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


The Recent Past

In Rainbows - 2008-02-19
DnD 4.0 Goes Web 2.0 - 2008-02-05
Religion Quiz - 2008-01-22
Song Idea - 2008-01-18
Oughta Be In Pictures - 2007-11-29


Who links to me?








last - next