Xinpheld�s Soapbox


Other Diarists
Mimi Smartypants
Unquiet Desperation
mistresslink
WWdN: In Exile
Duffiemoon
julival
KB Lincoln








NaNoWriMo 2006 Participant

xinpheld. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr


navigation
current
archives
profile
surveys
Nine-Toed Friends

extras
links
rings
H*R
Common Dreams

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Xinpheld's Shopbox - CafePress Happiness!!

NaNoWriMo Project Synopsis
2006-11-02, 09:05

Instead of an actual journal entry today, I thought I'd present to you the synopsis of the story I'm trying to spit out for National Novel Writing Month (a.k.a. NaNoWriMo - click). There's no title as yet, though some ideas are bubbling beneath the surface. I'd been mulling bits and pieces of this idea for a while, but 80 percent of it coalesced in my brain just yesterday morning. I guess I was feeling inspired. I'd like to thank my good friend, the Internet, for fueling the fire.

After this came about, I found myself not worrying whether I actually get all 50,000 words out by the end of the month; I have a feeling that I'll continue to work on it afterward, and that's the important part. Then again, maybe I'll drop the whole thing after a week. Writing is hard work, you know.

Anyway, here goes (input appreciated!):

As foretold by the calendar of an ancient culture, The Great Change had come, and had altered the world forever. Crossing the Galactic Horizon brought chaos and destruction not seen since the plagues of the Dark Ages, reversing the poles and creating havoc, both natural and manmade.

But mankind survived this cataclysm, and, in time, found that it had changed as well, for it had renewed its belief in ancient teachings, and had found the long lost link that brought science and astrology together. Ancient instincts, once thought lost, began to resurface in mind and body, reconnecting man with the elements and with their astrological affinities. And at the same time, technology lengthened lives, maximized health and infused itself into the very fiber of the body. The human race flourished once again, covering nearly every available inch of land not laid waste by the Great Change.

Mankind, once separated by racial and economic class, had now partitioned itself into Birth Signs, and each proliferated the divisions, however amicable, by coordinating birthing children to match the signs of the parents. After a century and a half, the concentration of astrological traits, both in personality and in power, became more and more pronounced, and the divisions were clear and unmistakable.

Or were they? Some of the more educated and far-seeing in the world secretly sought to become more than their time of birth brought them. And with one of their lot, a wealthy Virgo businessman, foully murdered, the effort became exposed to the world, inciting controversy.

But one man was above all that - or, rather, below it. A Virgo named Cornelius Chuckwagon, a man of modest means and even more modest personality but with a penchant for knowledge overlooked by even his own family. Soon he would uncover a secret that could change the shape of humanity once again - and there were those that would do almost anything to stop it.

There were others, as well, that would do anything at all to have that knowledge for themselves.

p.s. Please apologize for the above name (Cornelius) - I think it's just a placeholder. The name of the guy who's murdered is Archon Bellwether, a much more prestigious name. Too bad he dies.

-- End Transmission --


Reading:
astrology info

Hearing:
a clock ticking

Feeling:
writey




CURRENT TERROR ALERT LEVEL:
Terror Alert Level

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


The Recent Past

In Rainbows - 2008-02-19
DnD 4.0 Goes Web 2.0 - 2008-02-05
Religion Quiz - 2008-01-22
Song Idea - 2008-01-18
Oughta Be In Pictures - 2007-11-29


Who links to me?








last - next