Xinpheld�s Soapbox


Other Diarists
Mimi Smartypants
Unquiet Desperation
mistresslink
WWdN: In Exile
Duffiemoon
julival
KB Lincoln








NaNoWriMo 2006 Participant

xinpheld. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr


navigation
current
archives
profile
surveys
Nine-Toed Friends

extras
links
rings
H*R
Common Dreams

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Xinpheld's Shopbox - CafePress Happiness!!

On This Day, And Others
2006-04-10, 16:27

We have this game that the baby and H and I play, one of my favorites: H and I sit opposite each other on the floor, feet touching and open-legged, to make a little arena between us; the baby stands in the middle, and takes turns trotting to one or the other, where she gets a big hug and lots of kisses (tickly ones from me, as I got the beard and all). But the baby is wily; sometimes she'll tease one of us and make like she's going to one, then suddenly switch up and go to the other. Are babies always this tricksey?

She's got all kinds of interesting ideas, all thought up on her own. She's definitely becoming an adrenaline junkie, as she loves to be upside down and do the toss-in-the-air thing. She's taught herself to walk backward, for no reason that I can think of other than for the fun of it. On occasion she'll put her wooby over her head and start walking, I think just to see where she'll end up (which is usually on the floor after bonking into something). I think it's best that we get her into some sort of gymnastics program as soon as age allows, if only so she can learn to fall safely.

Last night was a good rehearsal, at the music director's house out by Portage Lakes. It was both rehearsal and dinner, though it ended up being more dinner than rehearsal. We started at around 330pm, and broke for dinner at around 715pm. The main dish was beef bourguignon which the director charmingly pronounced /ber-GUN-ion/; she's of an age where correcting her isn't worth it. Luckily, it tasted better than it was pronounced. There was an excellent salad that the show member who brought it probably couldn't reproduce, as she said she was just throwing together anything she could find in her fridge. I brought the dessert, which was (and still is - yes, I brought some home to you, dear) a vegan chocolate-peanut butter cake from The Mustard Seed. Yum, and again I say, yum. Anyway, we ended up chatting about anything and everything over wine and dinner and wine and dessert and wine and coffee, until almost midnight. I must say, I miss going to a good dinner party. My brain misses the exercise. Hopefully we'll do it again before the show is done.

My friend julival offered up a meme that I found intriguing for some reason, so here goes.

Open up wikipedia.org and type in the month and day of your birth. Choose 3 Events, 3 births and 3 deaths from the lists:

September 9th:

Events:

  • 1839 - John Herschel takes the first glass plate photograph.
  • 1942 - World War II: A Japanese floatplane drops an incendiary bomb on Oregon. [I believe the first and only attack by Japanese forces on the US mainland.]
  • 1947 - "First actual case of (a computer) bug being found": a moth lodges in a relay of a Mark II computer at Harvard University.

Births:

  • 1828 (N.S.) - Leo Tolstoy, Russian novelist (d. 1910)
  • 1943 - Roger Waters, British musician
  • 1960 - Hugh Grant, British actor

Deaths:

  • 1976 - Mao Zedong, President of China(b. 1893)
  • 1997 - Burgess Meredith, American actor (b. 1907)
  • 2003 - Larry Hovis, American actor (b. 1936) [oh, how I miss Liar's Club]

-- End Transmission --


Reading:


Hearing:


Feeling:





CURRENT TERROR ALERT LEVEL:
Terror Alert Level

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


The Recent Past

In Rainbows - 2008-02-19
DnD 4.0 Goes Web 2.0 - 2008-02-05
Religion Quiz - 2008-01-22
Song Idea - 2008-01-18
Oughta Be In Pictures - 2007-11-29


Who links to me?








last - next