Xinpheld�s Soapbox


Other Diarists
Mimi Smartypants
Unquiet Desperation
mistresslink
WWdN: In Exile
Duffiemoon
julival
KB Lincoln








NaNoWriMo 2006 Participant

xinpheld. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr


navigation
current
archives
profile
surveys
Nine-Toed Friends

extras
links
rings
H*R
Common Dreams

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Xinpheld's Shopbox - CafePress Happiness!!

Sing A Little Or A Lot
2006-04-07, 16:29

Geez, has it really been a week? I guess I've been busy.

The talent show fundraiser went pretty well. It was certainly a bigger event than I expected (in a local theater sense), certainly more so than the one we saw two years ago, where I don't think they even bothered to dim the house lights. This year's show fit the bill of 'variety' quite well. There was everything from Dave "Spoon Man" Henterly, playing his washboard contraption, to a hyperactive dance troop. A band of teens, with a strong female lead singer played The Beatle$'* 'Let It Be'. There were some old Standards. There were barbershop quartets, good and bad. There was even - for lack of a better term, in consideration for the quality of the material - a 'comedian'. And there was us, with our little rendition of a Corrs song ('Runaway', for those who know them). We ended up doing a different version of the song than we'd originally planned, because we were practicing. We were going to do a more straightforward version of the song, but then we wanted to do a few runthroughs before the show got underway. Since we were backstage, we played and sang quietly, and it ended up sounding much better than how we were planning to do it, so we changed on the spot. It ended up being much slower, and more warm and soothing. Some folks in the audience seemed to think so too; more than a few people gave us the impression that they wanted us to come over to their house in the evening and sing them to sleep. Just call us the Lullaby Delivery Service.

* I'm conducting a boycott of Beatles music, in light of the greed the owners are showing over this whole ridiculous Apple thing. Really, owning the image of an apple? The two aren't even close, except for the concept of 'apple'. Surely these people are rich enough that something like this is completely unnecessary. Egad. Anyway, I'm quite sick of the Beatles - and pretty much anything earlier than the mid 70's - so no great loss.

More rehearsals for the revue. I met the women of the show on Sunday, and all are strong singers. One person who didn't think they had a strong voice, however, was the baritone, dubbed 'Man 2' by the script (I'm 'Man 1' - every time I hear that it makes me think of Law and Order); he quit. Apparently he was making himself a nervous wreck over the whole thing. Funny, the one time I rehearsed with him, I thought he was doing fine. Perhaps my stepping in a week later and doing as well as he was while just sight reading a book I got two hours previous intimidated him. Yeah. Anyway, the director managed to line up another male singer that can actually hack it, so all the better. So what if he can only rehearse on the weekends? Ha ha!

One problem I'm having is that these rehearsals are cutting into my American Idol watching. Sure, Wednesday's no big deal, but how am I going to vote for Katharine if I'm at rehearsal? It's a real problem.

The reason I didn't miss this last Tuesday's show, however, is because I blew out a tire on the way home from work. And because I'm a phenomenal idiot, I made room in the trunk of the van a while back by taking out the bloody donut, so I had to rely on my dad to ferry the thing out to me so I could come home. As luck would have it, the guy whose house I pulled over in front of just happened to have a professional grade car jack, so once I got the donut changing it on was quick and easy. Thank you, guy whose name I've already forgotten.

I took Wednesday off to get a new pair of front tires, and to get some other things done as well. I finished our taxes finally, after clearing up what's involved and what to claim for the Adoption Tax Credit. Turns out we'll be getting a serious chunk of change. Of course, 95% of it is going to sink into the debts we accrued from the process, but it'll be nice to not be scraping the top of our credit limits anymore. Next year will bring us some cash as well, and hopefully by then we'll have fully recovered from our trip and the adoption, at least financially. We may never fully recover from the utter awesomeness of the little one we brought home with us, though. Tee hee.

All right, time to post. On comes the weekend, and with it, some more chaos. Due to recent changes in H's and her ex's custody agreement, we actually have the kids for the whole of this weekend, hurray. I expect they'll be bored in no time flat.

-- End Transmission --


Reading:


Hearing:


Feeling:





CURRENT TERROR ALERT LEVEL:
Terror Alert Level

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


The Recent Past

In Rainbows - 2008-02-19
DnD 4.0 Goes Web 2.0 - 2008-02-05
Religion Quiz - 2008-01-22
Song Idea - 2008-01-18
Oughta Be In Pictures - 2007-11-29


Who links to me?








last - next