Xinpheld�s Soapbox


Other Diarists
Mimi Smartypants
Unquiet Desperation
mistresslink
WWdN: In Exile
Duffiemoon
julival
KB Lincoln








NaNoWriMo 2006 Participant

xinpheld. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr


navigation
current
archives
profile
surveys
Nine-Toed Friends

extras
links
rings
H*R
Common Dreams

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Xinpheld's Shopbox - CafePress Happiness!!

That's My Soul Up There
2006-01-03,

Today's a marker in my book: one year since being hired full time here at Workplace, Inc. It's another lens to look through, along with New Year's, back toward the year that has been. Holy crap and sakes alive, but 2005 did a number on me and mine, both good and not so good. I'm not sure that there was an emotion on the list that I didn't feel at some point over the course. Here's a nice list from Wikipedia:

  • Acceptance - reluctantly
  • Amusement - I wouldn't have survived the year without it
  • Anger - try Fury
  • Anticipation - try waitin' for a new baby
  • Apprehension - soaking in a whole country in two weeks is not easy
  • Awe - big time
  • Bitterness - just a tad
  • Boredom - hmm... I'll have to say no to this one
  • Calmness - only in tiny moments, like meditating in a Buddhist temple
  • Comfort - Shangri La: nuff said
  • Contentment - don't think so
  • Confidence - yeah, right
  • Cool - it's a necessity sometimes for comedic timing, but otherwise I'm terrible at it
  • Courage - some would say yes, and I would not be one of those people
  • Elation - baby!
  • Embarrassment - if I get through a year without embarrassment, I'll eat my shoe
  • Envy - maybe of my friend's stereo, that's about it
  • Gratitude - ten times over
  • Grief - yes; reasons to be disclosed at a future date
  • Guilt - among other things, adoptive guilt
  • Glee - all three kids in my life have reason to make me feel this way
  • Gladness - must have, but the specifics escape me
  • Hate - I'm not touching this one
  • Happiness - few and far between
  • Honor - to get the opportunity to adopt from China and see it first hand
  • Hope - maybe once, long past; maybe twice, because what else is there?
  • Humility - for certain
  • Joy - felt in spite of outside influences
  • Jealousy - don't think so
  • Kindness - was hard to come by, in general
  • Loneliness - ...yes
  • Love - always
  • Lust - when we weren't too tired
  • Modesty - probably; it's second nature, in some ways
  • Nervousness - many times
  • Negativity - far to often for anyone's benefit
  • Pain - deep in the heart
  • Patience - surely I must have once this year? maybe?
  • Peace - see Calmness
  • Phobia - no
  • Pity - for the birthparents; and for Buddy, who got sick the last day
  • Pride - how could I not, of my beautiful, loving, genius little girl? how could I not, of the boy who's analyzing the finer points of comedy at eight years old? how could I not, of the girl who has chosen by force of will alone to grow in the face of despair and adversity, instead of self-destruct? how could I not, of a brother who's chosen to take a moderate and temperate voice in the Christian world? how could I not, of a wife who still stands in defense of her children after so much pain, frustration, confusion and anguish?
  • Rage - like I never thought was possible
  • Remorse - not as such
  • Repentance - oh but I want to try
  • Sadness - like I never though was possible
  • Shame - see embarrassment
  • Shyness - every day
  • Sorrow - same as sadness?
  • Shock - ohthephonecall
  • Suffering - yes; reasons to be disclosed at a future date
  • Surprise - surely something must've surprised me at some point
  • Terror - maybe not
  • Unhappiness - seems a way of life for me, sometimes
  • Vulnerability - definitely
  • Wonderment - for sure
  • Worry - like you wouldn't believe

So all but five, on this, an, I would guess, incomplete list. Quite the roller coaster, I assure you. Oy. Here's for hoping that this upcoming year will take a turn for the sane. Then again, the Year of the Dog is supposed to be a crappy one for me, if I were to hold to Chinese tradition. Or is it? Time will tell. Or not.

-- End Transmission --


Reading:


Hearing:


Feeling:





CURRENT TERROR ALERT LEVEL:
Terror Alert Level

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


The Recent Past

In Rainbows - 2008-02-19
DnD 4.0 Goes Web 2.0 - 2008-02-05
Religion Quiz - 2008-01-22
Song Idea - 2008-01-18
Oughta Be In Pictures - 2007-11-29


Who links to me?








last - next