Xinpheld�s Soapbox


Other Diarists
Mimi Smartypants
Unquiet Desperation
mistresslink
WWdN: In Exile
Duffiemoon
julival
KB Lincoln








NaNoWriMo 2006 Participant

xinpheld. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr


navigation
current
archives
profile
surveys
Nine-Toed Friends

extras
links
rings
H*R
Common Dreams

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Xinpheld's Shopbox - CafePress Happiness!!

Slow Leak
2004-10-19,

Just when you think life is going to get back to some kind of normality�

I was spending a nice quiet evening at home while the kids were at their dad's and H was at orchestra rehearsal-- putting away groceries, doing some laundry, playing little komputer times.

Then the phone rings. On the line is Mike, one of the men with whom I shared quartet time during The Music Man. I already knew that he was going to be directing a show for December called Uh Oh, Here Comes Christmas. I'd half-considered trying out for it, but the dates for doing so had slipped by me, as I was busy with La Mancha, and I wasn't so sure enough that I wanted to be in another show so soon that I pursued the information with vigor or anything.

So he calls me, asking if I'm interested in doing the show, because one of the guys he signed on 'got cold feet' and dropped out of the show. I get the feeling that he was putting it nicely-- but then, he's the kind of guy who puts everything nicely; one of the good people, you might say. Naturally, I have no idea what to say; I'm of course flattered that he'd thought of me as a replacement and, truth be told, I have the theatre bug pretty bad and would be interested in doing it. But we've also spent the last four months being involved in productions and we were planning on taking a break (I say 'we', because he also said that there's room to be made for H; another one of the cast members is 78 years old and has admitted that the part is 'too much' for her. How H is going to fill in for some or most of an older woman's role is� intriguing, but she's planning on calling Mike this evening about how that would work). Our plan as of the moment is to talk it over with the kids - our main concern - and see what they think about us being absent occasionally in the evenings again. We're well aware of the stress that La Mancha, however fulfilling an experience it was, put on our household. While this wouldn't be nearly so excruciating a schedule, it's still a fair number of weekday evenings. Add that to Cub Scouts, which is now back in full swing, and craziness abounds. So it might be both of us, might be just me, might be neither. I honestly don't know.

But before I can contend with that, I have to contend with my car. Seems that over the weekend my driver's side rear tire developed a slow leak. I'm stopping by the place I bought them in May after work; by some miracle, they have time open this evening. If all goes well, the warrantee will kick in and it'll be a free fix, and I'll get my needed rotation/balancing finally done to boot.

Meanwhile, Jon Stewart has once again proven to be my hero. Seems he went on CNN's Crossfire on Friday (see CNN's transcript) and told the hosts to their faces that they suck. I plan on downloading a copy of the interview when I get home.

-- End Transmission --


Reading:


Hearing:


Feeling:





CURRENT TERROR ALERT LEVEL:
Terror Alert Level

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


The Recent Past

In Rainbows - 2008-02-19
DnD 4.0 Goes Web 2.0 - 2008-02-05
Religion Quiz - 2008-01-22
Song Idea - 2008-01-18
Oughta Be In Pictures - 2007-11-29


Who links to me?








last - next