Xinpheld�s Soapbox


Other Diarists
Mimi Smartypants
Unquiet Desperation
mistresslink
WWdN: In Exile
Duffiemoon
julival
KB Lincoln








NaNoWriMo 2006 Participant

xinpheld. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr


navigation
current
archives
profile
surveys
Nine-Toed Friends

extras
links
rings
H*R
Common Dreams

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Xinpheld's Shopbox - CafePress Happiness!!

The Great Sigh of Relief
2003-12-05,

How do I spell relief?

N-E-W-J-O-B.

After a total of three interviews and using up my lot of decent ties (no offense to my Mr. Potatohead tie), my charming wit and multitude of high-level skills have nabbed me a new job.

Author's Note: Speak of the devil-- a UPS truck just showed up with my 'hiring package': welcome letter, Employee Handbook, and drug screening form (oh, how I do so love to pee in a cup). Sure glad I got off the pipe in time. *wink*

What a freaking relief! I'll be getting a couple-three hundred dollars more per month, 8-5 hours and my very own cubicle. And no more cuts and splinters. No more continually dirty hands. No more working in extreme temperatures. No more being forced to listen to bad radio (though I will miss the occasional blasting of OutKast-- lend me some sugar, I am your neighbor!). The boss was very disappointed, but surprisingly okay about it. I in some small way expected him to tell me to just leave right then. But instead I'm tasked with getting my lone underling up to Supervisory speed. And we still get to go to the Xmas party this weekend. Can anyone say, 'celebratory drink'? Free booze, baby-- I'm there, Mr. Potatohead tie in tow.

And my family? They might be a little happy about the prospect of my renewed presence about the house. I got home from work last night to be received by a 'hooray for your new job' song with Hil on the keys, the boy on the ukulele and H singing, to the tune of... oh geez, I can't remember! Anyway, it was the best gift I could have gotten in celebration. How can I not love these people?

I realised yesterday that I have to start worrying about 'business casual' again. It's been... good god, a year and a half since I've had to dress nice for work. Thank all that is good and true that fiscal year 2002-2003 is done and over with. Truly, in the annals of my history, it will go down as, if not the worst, one of the worst years ever. [place sigh of relief here] Anyway, what the heck is business casual, anyway? I'm sure it's more obvious than I think. I'll most likely start from the top edge and work my way down as appropriate. Not that there'll be much by which to gauge, as the vast majority of my immediate co-workers, I'm told, will be female. Oh the horror, being surrounded by women! I assure you, I kid. To be able to use my mainly non-threatening wit and charm on a daily basis, while intimidating in the prospect of keeping it up, sounds like a load of fun. Come the 15th, I reckon I'll find out.

-- End Transmission --

p.s. Thank you, K-Bird, for the offering. I'd like to think it helped.


Reading:


Hearing:


Feeling:





CURRENT TERROR ALERT LEVEL:
Terror Alert Level

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


The Recent Past

In Rainbows - 2008-02-19
DnD 4.0 Goes Web 2.0 - 2008-02-05
Religion Quiz - 2008-01-22
Song Idea - 2008-01-18
Oughta Be In Pictures - 2007-11-29


Who links to me?








last - next