Xinpheld�s Soapbox


Other Diarists
Mimi Smartypants
Unquiet Desperation
mistresslink
WWdN: In Exile
Duffiemoon
julival
KB Lincoln








NaNoWriMo 2006 Participant

xinpheld. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr


navigation
current
archives
profile
surveys
Nine-Toed Friends

extras
links
rings
H*R
Common Dreams

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Xinpheld's Shopbox - CafePress Happiness!!

And Nothing Is Ever Easy
2003-12-02,

I had an interview yesterday, amazingly enough. I got a call from the place a full two weeks after I'd sent them my resume, so I'd forgotten all about it thinking that they'd moved on. It's at this place called N@tional Interst@te; it's an insurance company for mass transit and trucks and such. Yes, I know it's insurance. But it's not like life insurance or anything completely sinister. Note how I start to completely justify myself and my motives. Normally I consider insurance to be one of the great evils of our society (see: Bulworth), but... it seems like a decent job.

Anyway, doofus that I am, I forgot to bring a change of clothes with me to the interview, as it was on the way to work and I would have had time to stop for lunch and change on the way. So instead I got to sprint home for twenty minutes just so I could run in, change and run out again. But for some reason as I was scrambling about the house, the blinking light on the answering machine called to me. One message was H calling to remind herself to get the LEGO advent calendar out for the season. The other message was from the people that had interviewed me over a month ago, saying that the person they'd hired didn't work out and would I be still interested in working for them.

Enter Dilemma.

The dilemma being, the interview that I had yesterday went really well, it's less than 1/2 the distance away from the other place (and 1/2 of what I'm driving now), not to mention that I get the feeling that the pay will be better, though I don't know a concrete number yet. And the people there are much nicer and less... businessy. And the building they work in is gorgeous-- lots of woodwork and a nice man-made-waterfall view out the lunchroom window. And I was given the impression that there's 'room for growth' there' as opposed to none at the previous place.

So, as you can gather, there are lots of plusses for the current opportunity. But no guarantee that there will be a job. Yet. And the other place wants me to start as soon as Monday, so pressure's on.

But wait-- there's already an update to this situation! I just a few minutes ago got off the phone with one of the people I interviewed with yesterday. I called her and basically told her my situation. She was entirely sympathetic to my plight, as well as sympathetic to the other company for having to keep them waiting. I asked her what my chances were of being hired there realistically, as this other offer reared its surprising head. It turns out that they were planning on calling me today (as opposed to the Thursday I was expecting) to set up the 2nd interview with one of the higher-ups and take some sort of personality assessment (something to weed out the idiots, one of which I am not-- usually). They were going to call me sooner! How's that for potential?

I find myself trying not to be excited about the prospect, but goddamnit, I deserve to be excited about something and have it actually happen. And when you look at it, unless something horrible happens, I'm going to be into another job no matter what. This means-- regular hours! Better pay! I can see my family during the week again! Yay! Um... ahem... I mean, that would be nice and all. Too bad it might not happen. Yeah, that's it.

On a side note, I recently discovered that I have a planter's wart on my toe. Yippee. I blame the shower room in the park on Kelley's Island. With the candlestick. So I guess at some point I should contact the local dermatologist. H keeps reminding me and I keep putting it off. I'm such a boy, sometimes.

-- End Transmission --


Reading:


Hearing:


Feeling:





CURRENT TERROR ALERT LEVEL:
Terror Alert Level

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


The Recent Past

In Rainbows - 2008-02-19
DnD 4.0 Goes Web 2.0 - 2008-02-05
Religion Quiz - 2008-01-22
Song Idea - 2008-01-18
Oughta Be In Pictures - 2007-11-29


Who links to me?








last - next