Xinpheld�s Soapbox


Other Diarists
Mimi Smartypants
Unquiet Desperation
mistresslink
WWdN: In Exile
Duffiemoon
julival
KB Lincoln








NaNoWriMo 2006 Participant

xinpheld. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr


navigation
current
archives
profile
surveys
Nine-Toed Friends

extras
links
rings
H*R
Common Dreams

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Xinpheld's Shopbox - CafePress Happiness!!

The Greatest Job Of All
2006-10-20,

After last night, it seems pretty obvious that Stephen Colbert has one of the best jobs on earth. In one episode, he gets to sing "Dance With Me" with former member of Orleans (and Congressional candidate) John Hall, and then later actually flipped a Nobel Prize medal off his thumb like a quarter to settle a dispute - later trying to trade the owner for it by offering the man his Peabody, Emmy and a couple of other awards, all while successfully lampooning the idiocy of pundit talk shows. How cool is that?

This weekend, The Girl heads to her first Homecoming event. She's got a great dress for the occasion, a future-meets-past getup, looking like a 50's dress with Space Age colors (black and green). It's pretty awesome and looks great on her. Maybe too great; I can't help but want to pull the young gent who's taking her to the event aside and have the classic sit down with him and the "What are your intentions with my (step)daughter?" rhetoric. But considering The Girl's budding 'I Rule The World' mentality, coupled with the near pushoveriness that her date seems to bear - something that I fear will be a trend in her boyfriends to come (did I mention she's something of a control freak?) - I don't think I really have much to fear. Maybe I should be fearing for her date, instead.

"Dada. Up." That's the request Laurana made a couple of times this week - that I be the one to pick her up from her day care on the way home, in conjunction with the mornings where she's screamingly unhappy not to be seeing me in the morning, much to H's delighted ears. We're speculating that my presence in the morning is symbolic to her of The Weekend, in that she's with us all day and not going to day care (which she actually likes, though she certainly prefers being with us), and not that she just prefers to be with me. Seeing Dada means getting to be home all day. Of course, a small part of me hopes it's that she's becoming a true Daddy's Girl, my ultimate goal. I don't want to have it be to the detriment of her relationship with H, though. I just want her to favor me, not prefer me outright. No offense, my darling wife.

I got the willies a little while ago. I was on break, and something over the course of the day reminded me of the whole Mayan calendar thing, and how it ends on December 21st, 2012 (I've talked about it before - click), so I was Googling around to see what info and (mainly) nonsense was filling up the Intertubes lately. I decided I'd add a countdown widget to my Google homepage to watch the inevitable approach, and the one I liked asked for the end date down to the minute, so I looked it up (click). It turns out that the Winter Solstice of 2012 happens at - you guessed it - 11:11 GMT. Thus the willies commenced. Or heebie-jeebies. I can never decide which are skin-crawlier.

-- End Transmission --


Reading:
Google info

Hearing:
"I Ran" by Flock of Seagulls, which always reminds me now of Chandler's (of Friends) 80's hair

Feeling:
Minnesota




CURRENT TERROR ALERT LEVEL:
Terror Alert Level

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


The Recent Past

In Rainbows - 2008-02-19
DnD 4.0 Goes Web 2.0 - 2008-02-05
Religion Quiz - 2008-01-22
Song Idea - 2008-01-18
Oughta Be In Pictures - 2007-11-29


Who links to me?








last - next