Xinpheld�s Soapbox


Other Diarists
Mimi Smartypants
Unquiet Desperation
mistresslink
WWdN: In Exile
Duffiemoon
julival
KB Lincoln








NaNoWriMo 2006 Participant

xinpheld. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr


navigation
current
archives
profile
surveys
Nine-Toed Friends

extras
links
rings
H*R
Common Dreams

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Xinpheld's Shopbox - CafePress Happiness!!

China Goodies
2006-10-05, 14:52

How could I have not mentioned this yesterday? H brought me a gift home on Tuesday. She had an extended lunchtime with a friend of ours who's now working downtown, and she came upon an Asian market that she thought had closed down, but had actually just moved to a new location. And what was the thing she found me? Why, none other than the drink of all drinks, Vita Chrysanthemum Tea! Hooray for my lovely wife! It was in the form of juice box style containers (it's the little yellow one in the picture if you clicked on the clicky), but hey, it's still tea. I had one that night, and it was even better than I remember; not too sweet, and the flavor was so present that I could practically taste the flower petals. Awesome. I'm still deciding whether I'm going to share with anyone. But then, we know where to get it now so it's not like I need to cover the stuff outright. But then... mine mine mine!

The other thing H got at the market was a nicely presented tin of moon cakes. She decided that we're going to observe, in the vein of glonous and cultual (sic) expansion, the Chinese Moon Festival. She got the sweet bean paste variety. I'll have to check the finances for the month (which are currently being revamped in such a way as I am sole proprietor of bill-paying; I'll save that for another entry) to see if we can spring for some Happy Garden for dinner. I could go for some mu shu.

Last night was bath time fun with Laurana. She had the standard stacking cups and bubbles, but we've also started using the foam letters and numbers she got for her birthday last year - you know, the kind that sort of stick to the side of the tub when they're wet. One of the first letters she recognized was Q, because of the dang 'QU' song from the TMBG ABC's DVD (that was fur to write). Last night we were going over the letters that start everyone's names; L for Laurana, M for Mama, D for Dada, H for [The Girl] and S for [The Boy]. The first time I showed her the L, she held onto it for most of bath time. We went over which one was which, and then I pushed all of them off the edge of the tub and into the water. Then I asked her to find the letter that corresponded to a name, like, "Can you find the letter for Dada?" With little prompting other than the occasional something in the vein of 'it's an orange letter', she got them all right in one or two tries. Then after she got them all right, she said, "Did it!" and then, after a pause, "Good job!" which is what we say for getting or doing things right. She definitely seemed proud of herself. Did I mention she's a genius?

I was looking through the Beacon Journal at lunch today and was happily reminded by a review article that Spamalot is only three days away. Can't. Wait.

-- End Transmission --


Reading:
the Beacon Journal - aren't you paying attention?

Hearing:
Sufjan Stevens - Illinois (thank you Snow Patrol and



CURRENT TERROR ALERT LEVEL:
Terror Alert Level

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


The Recent Past

In Rainbows - 2008-02-19
DnD 4.0 Goes Web 2.0 - 2008-02-05
Religion Quiz - 2008-01-22
Song Idea - 2008-01-18
Oughta Be In Pictures - 2007-11-29


Who links to me?








last - next