Xinpheld�s Soapbox


Other Diarists
Mimi Smartypants
Unquiet Desperation
mistresslink
WWdN: In Exile
Duffiemoon
julival
KB Lincoln








NaNoWriMo 2006 Participant

xinpheld. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr


navigation
current
archives
profile
surveys
Nine-Toed Friends

extras
links
rings
H*R
Common Dreams

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Xinpheld's Shopbox - CafePress Happiness!!

Diving Back In
2006-05-22, 16:27

Without any pomp, fanfare, and with only a little circumstance, we renewed our membership to the city rec center this weekend. And we know that means: time to get myself back on the machines. Time to make some fundamental changes in my lifestyle. Time to get myself up off of my figurative and literal ass. 35 is that age where mortality isn't knocking on your door, isn't even on its way to your house yet, but it has sent you a letter informing you of its interest in you.

Dear Mr. James,

Hi there, this is Dr. Destino Mortality. Remember me? I'm the one you heard about a number of years ago but chose to ignore for the most part.

Put on a few pounds, I see. And you're not exercising regularly anymore - not that what I'd call what you were doing before was regular, per se, but was something akin to an effort. At least you've managed to quit smoking; what a stupid habit to pick up when you're already 21 years old!

Anyway, my point: I'm writing to inform you that I've decided to add you to my Official List of People I'm Going to Visit in the Future. I haven't put a visitation date next to your name yet, however. I figured that I'd give it a while before I put you on the schedule. The visitation date, while somewhat arbitrary and random, is greatly influenced by your efforts. Now, I can't officially recommend that you try to thwart my efforts to pay you a visit - that would hurt my quotas, you understand - you might, however, want to think about your current life standing and how it relates to my little (ha! a funny!) list.

Cheers!

Sincerely,

Dr Destino Mortality

What a nice guy. I think I'll hop in the treadmill now like a good little rodent.

And because we're once again members of the rec, the baby got her first experience with their big ol' pool. She had a lot of fun, so she said (in her way), but she mainly looked intimidated by all the water. Not freaked out, though, even when she got a mouthful of water from tipping over. I have a feeling she'll be a water baby in no time, especially if her mother has anything to say about it. Me? I'm a stone, and I swim like one. I'm happy to hang out in the shallow end and play.

We spent some time in Cleveland Hts. on Saturday, and went to the Hessler Street Fair (I'm not sure if the emphasis is supposed to be Hessler Street Fair or Hessler Street Fair; maybe it's both?), which is where all the hippies go to sell their wares and pass out pamphlets on various anti-Bush, pro-environment, free-the-unjustly-imprisoned, anti-nuclear stuff. And there's good falafel there. And music - H's friend from high school (who's now also living in Medina, go figure) and her band opened the day. They sounded like a folk rock version of BNL, but without the occasional humorous lyric. BTW, that's where the super-cute pic of the baby was taken.

This is me not going on a rant about how Alberto Gonzales has shown his true face by threatening the media with prosecution for publicizing classified information received from protected sources. I guess that, since there's too many people inside the Administration who are afraid r concerned about what's going on to be able to stop leaks from there, they have to set fire to the 1st Amendment instead. That makes sense. Anyway, I'm not going to say anything about it - chances are his announcement of that policy is now classified.

-- End Transmission --


Reading:
DaVinci Code, still

Hearing:
Elvis Costello, Watching the Detectives

Feeling:
like she gets me, because she came back for me




CURRENT TERROR ALERT LEVEL:
Terror Alert Level

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


The Recent Past

In Rainbows - 2008-02-19
DnD 4.0 Goes Web 2.0 - 2008-02-05
Religion Quiz - 2008-01-22
Song Idea - 2008-01-18
Oughta Be In Pictures - 2007-11-29


Who links to me?








last - next