Xinpheld�s Soapbox


Other Diarists
Mimi Smartypants
Unquiet Desperation
mistresslink
WWdN: In Exile
Duffiemoon
julival
KB Lincoln








NaNoWriMo 2006 Participant

xinpheld. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr


navigation
current
archives
profile
surveys
Nine-Toed Friends

extras
links
rings
H*R
Common Dreams

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Xinpheld's Shopbox - CafePress Happiness!!

Where's The Eyes Of Marge?
2006-03-15, 16:22

Ides: the fifteenth day of March, May, July, and October, and the thirteenth day of the other months.

Got some bad news on Monday - I'm going to have to wait until the end of the month for my CPAP. That means two weeks of utter misery while being kept from precious, precious air. I'm pretty much convinced that whatever might have happened to me medically if I didn't get myself on this apparatus is going to happen in the next two weeks. Heart attack, stroke, something. The self-destructive part of my brain knows that the end is near for potentially many of my physical and psychological stresses, and it must be looking to lash out while it still has the chance. That, or it's biding its time, researching ways to use this forthcoming fount of health and energy for evil. Or maybe - just maybe - the self-destructive part will dwindle away with the rest, once the air comes. Which would make it all the more dangerous leading up to the end, having it cornered like that.

I'm hoping that both the tendency to anthropomorphize parts of my brain and the tendency to expect the worst go away, too.

Over the weekend, I finally finished watching the last two episodes of Firefly, followed by Serenity. How sad that there's no more, and probably won't be. It's a testament both to the acting and to Joss Whedon's writing that I got so attached to these characters in so short a time, episodewise. The interlacing of the world's oldest cultures (Asian mysticism) with one of the youngest (the Old West) is something to see. I'm sure I'll be watching the lot over again, especially since I'm trying to get the wife hooked on it as much as I am. I'm also kind of sad that I came to the series late. In the past, a show like Firefly would have been something I would have jumped on when it was on TV (same goes for the new Battlestar Galactica, another show I should be watching but am not). Not having the time when it was actually on shouldn't have been an excuse, since I know how to use a VCR and all (we didn't have DVR then, pity). It would have been nice to be able to get caught up in the fervor of the show's cancellation and the advent of the feature film. I probably would have ended up calling myself a Browncoat. Maybe. Now there's just slowly dying remnants of a fanbase lingering on the net. The world has moved on.

So what's keeping me from watching the Sci Fi that I so dearly love? My BSG excuse is that, due to its episodic nature, I'm out of the loop not that it's in its third (?) season. And the thing is, I certainly had the time for Enterprise when it was on. Maybe it's that I can't watch TV on Friday. I almost never watch TV on Friday, when Firefly was and BSG is on. That still doesn't forgive the could-have-recorded-it excuse, though.

I dunno. I'm not going to beat myself up about it. I'll just have to keep an eye out for the Next Thing and be vigilant about staying with it. All I've got to look forward to so far are the two upcoming Star Wars TV cash cows.

-- End Transmission --


Reading:


Hearing:


Feeling:





CURRENT TERROR ALERT LEVEL:
Terror Alert Level

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


The Recent Past

In Rainbows - 2008-02-19
DnD 4.0 Goes Web 2.0 - 2008-02-05
Religion Quiz - 2008-01-22
Song Idea - 2008-01-18
Oughta Be In Pictures - 2007-11-29


Who links to me?








last - next