Xinpheld�s Soapbox


Other Diarists
Mimi Smartypants
Unquiet Desperation
mistresslink
WWdN: In Exile
Duffiemoon
julival
KB Lincoln








NaNoWriMo 2006 Participant

xinpheld. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr


navigation
current
archives
profile
surveys
Nine-Toed Friends

extras
links
rings
H*R
Common Dreams

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Xinpheld's Shopbox - CafePress Happiness!!

Cow Phone Magic
2005-11-01, 16:25

Today in the 2nd anniversary of Buying the Bear. It's funny, because I just finally listened to the entire recording of our interview for my friend Chris' podcast, Unquiet Desperation during my lunch hour. Hard to believe that (interview) was only four months ago. So much has gone on since that day, it blows my mind. And thinking back to the actual bear-buying day? Fuggetaboutit. I think back to the day I met my future wife, and it seems like it's been a lifetime. In a good way; it just means that there's still so much more.

On to a whole other kind of sappy - baby stuff. We've got a new milestone to celebrate from the weekend, and one I didn't expect to happen for a while yet-- her first official sentence. Crazy, I know, considering she's got a list of only two or three words she uses only very sporadically and a few more that she's got only part right, like 'daw' for dog and 'cah' for cat. I've been trying to keep her from calling all of our cats Bubba (it's so easy to say!), since only one of them is named that, after all.

So we're playing in her room, most likely after a diaper change, and one of the things she's got out is one of those ring-stackey things, except it's a cow, and the head goes on top (it's kinda gruesome with just the head on, but it does serve as a warning to the other cows). One thing she's been doing lately is picking up items and trying to use them as a phone, making some talky noises and, very rarely, a 'Hi'. So naturally the cow-head-only stackey thing became just that, with the cow head being the ear part and the base the talk-into part. We take turns talking into the cow base (all your cow base are belong to us), and on her turn, she gets all wide-eyed and excited, and says - I kid you not - in her cute, whispery voice, "Hi... da da." H (thank goodness she was there, too) and I both looked at her, stunned. Then there was a flurry of 'yea baby!'s and kisses, which we try and do for positive reinforcement for such things. Luckily, we don't use that mode of reinforcement for just anyone demonstrating an improved use of English - that would get embarrassing, real quick. Or interesting, depending on who we were congratulating. Hmmm....

..anyway, cutting this one short - it's the end of the day and the forthcoming evening beckons. Who knows, I might even find some time to get going on my NaNoWriMo participation. I fully expect to not have enough time this month to get to 50K words, but what the heck, some writing is better than no writing. I just need to get myself to decided between a couple of plotlines a have in my head. One is kid's-level fantasy, the other is heady, complicated sci-fi. Hmm... when I look at it that way, it pretty much answers my question for me. I think I'll save the sci-fi idea for next year and do a little research first.

-- End Transmission --


Reading:


Hearing:


Feeling:





CURRENT TERROR ALERT LEVEL:
Terror Alert Level

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


The Recent Past

In Rainbows - 2008-02-19
DnD 4.0 Goes Web 2.0 - 2008-02-05
Religion Quiz - 2008-01-22
Song Idea - 2008-01-18
Oughta Be In Pictures - 2007-11-29


Who links to me?








last - next