Xinpheld�s Soapbox


Other Diarists
Mimi Smartypants
Unquiet Desperation
mistresslink
WWdN: In Exile
Duffiemoon
julival
KB Lincoln








NaNoWriMo 2006 Participant

xinpheld. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr


navigation
current
archives
profile
surveys
Nine-Toed Friends

extras
links
rings
H*R
Common Dreams

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Xinpheld's Shopbox - CafePress Happiness!!

Ode to Parenthood
2005-05-10,

I find myself with little to say today, but I at least wanted to recap the weekend, flush with parental tribute.

Saturday was the traditional day-before-Mother's-Day event, James Day. This year's was sedate, which was more than fine by me. Not sleeping well due to what I'm assuming now is bronchitis does not make for a hyper morning for The James. So it was a nice morning of waffles and homemade cards. The Girl, being the Virgo that she is, once again made my card - as well as H's for the subsequent day - in PowerPoint presentation format. This may change one day, as her artistic talents continue to develop, but it's a hoot for now. Surely Mr. Gates' developer minions did not foresee such a use for their product.

Anyway, the afternoon was spent out to lunch with my mom and her husband, along with my brother and his wife who were in town for the weekend, both for this and to start shoring things up for their move back into the area in September. So many relatives in such close proximity- ah, the babysitting opportunities! Not that we're going to be using them for a long, long while.

Mother's Day seemed to go better than I expected, considering most of it was on the fly. A finely-made omelet for the lady was followed by the arrival of the kids, who were at their dad's place overnight. Before any gifts could be presented, the kids shooed H into our bedroom (along with me, to keep her company) while they worked on something. That something turned out to be a short one-act play, called 'How Mother's Day Came to Be'. The basic premise involved a mother (The Girl) who, fed up with not getting recognition for her hard work, confronted God (The Boy) about it. It contained tine travel, resurrection and, of course, dancing at the end (there's always a dance number at the end), all within about 7 minutes. Truly their best work to date.

This weekend also brought us up to working out the electrical scheme for the basement. Time to buy plugs and switches and cans: oh my. And wire, lots of wire. After a review with the guy who's helping us with this phase, it turns out that we don't need to extend our breaker panel after all, which is fabulous and going to save us some money, hooray.

I tell you, working on the basement has certainly given me inspiration to Build Stuff. I just need a little more equipment and I'll be ready to make things like those storm windows I'd been wanting to make for our breezeway so everything doesn't get rained/snowed on and maybe we could even use the area in the off season. Useful things built by me-- what a concept.

Fun with Visio - Vol. 1, Ep. 7-- 'We Know':

-- End Transmission --


Reading:
American Gods, soon

Hearing:


Feeling:





CURRENT TERROR ALERT LEVEL:
Terror Alert Level

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


The Recent Past

In Rainbows - 2008-02-19
DnD 4.0 Goes Web 2.0 - 2008-02-05
Religion Quiz - 2008-01-22
Song Idea - 2008-01-18
Oughta Be In Pictures - 2007-11-29


Who links to me?








last - next