Xinpheld�s Soapbox


Other Diarists
Mimi Smartypants
Unquiet Desperation
mistresslink
WWdN: In Exile
Duffiemoon
julival
KB Lincoln








NaNoWriMo 2006 Participant

xinpheld. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr


navigation
current
archives
profile
surveys
Nine-Toed Friends

extras
links
rings
H*R
Common Dreams

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Xinpheld's Shopbox - CafePress Happiness!!

Wonky
2005-05-04,

That's the code word of the day-- wonky. I can't put another word to how I'm feeling today. I think that hunk of whatever from yesterday actually was a piece of insulation, because my throat certainly felt like it was coated in bits of fiberglass this morning. Ouch. Luckily, a large dose of hot oolong tea on the way to work seemed to do the trick of soothing that mess. I half considered staying home today, mainly because of the wonkiness. I figured that being slightly dizzy and whooshy in the head was not the best condition to be in for the morning drive. But I went ahead and headed off to work anyway. As much as I'd like a good day at home staring at whatever marathon SciFi is showing today, I'd just as soon save what I can for July. Alas, I must bow to the Man.

With the weather cooperating for once, I finally managed my first lunchtime walk of the year in. A brisk two miles certainly helps the day go. I was hoping it might wake me up a little more, but I'm still wonky. I think the movement helped work some of the gunk out, though. Like you wanted to know that.

I'm just about to make myself some afternoon tea, and I'm hoping this cup won't taste like crap. The only source for hot water in this place (there isn't even any hot water in the bathrooms-- that's surely got to be a health violation of some sort) is the coffee vending machine. It's one of those kinds that has free regular coffee and hot water, but you have to pay for the fancy stuff. The main problem is that the water line that feeds the machine is made of plastic, and, if it sits too long, so does the water. Truly awful. We've got the same problem with our kitchen sink-- I'm thinking of switching the hot and cold lines, because the hot water isn't plasticky like the cold is. And the taste of plastic in my water makes me think of al the nasty poisonous chemicals that are entering my system with each sip, which reminds me of our poisonous, throwaway culture and the petroleum it takes to make that plastic, which reminds me that Western society is headed for immanent collapse.

Sometimes having put together a bunch of life's puzzle pieces isn't a good thing. Ah, to be more ignorant. Someone please, take a mallet to my head (bang-bang, Maxwell).

[tastes tea] Ah, I'm in luck-- no plastic. Happy tea time.

Something's definitely wrong with me, because I'm feeling ready for a Rick Astley karaoke marathon (really-- who isn't?). Which would only be, like, three songs. But still, I'm ready-- as soon as my voice recovers from the fiberglass. Of course, by the end of the marathon, everyone in earshot will most likely have the urge to start eating fiberglass, just to have the pain and blood as a distraction from the Rick Astley Madness (it's in the JAMA, I checked).

Fun with Visio - Vol. 1, Ep. 5-- 'Running':

-- End Transmission --


Reading:
naught, at the moment

Hearing:
The Mummy Returns as background noise

Feeling:
again, see above




CURRENT TERROR ALERT LEVEL:
Terror Alert Level

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


The Recent Past

In Rainbows - 2008-02-19
DnD 4.0 Goes Web 2.0 - 2008-02-05
Religion Quiz - 2008-01-22
Song Idea - 2008-01-18
Oughta Be In Pictures - 2007-11-29


Who links to me?








last - next