Xinpheld�s Soapbox


Other Diarists
Mimi Smartypants
Unquiet Desperation
mistresslink
WWdN: In Exile
Duffiemoon
julival
KB Lincoln








NaNoWriMo 2006 Participant

xinpheld. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr


navigation
current
archives
profile
surveys
Nine-Toed Friends

extras
links
rings
H*R
Common Dreams

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Xinpheld's Shopbox - CafePress Happiness!!

Stumble Mate
2005-04-04,

Hi kids, it's Monday, and I'm just through with my first day of 'work'. 'Work' consisted of having someone else do what I do at home (mainly because it's their equipment, not ours) and trying to intertranslate between German and English. Being the proper American that I am, I was the one who had the severe handicap linguistically. Really, if there were one part of my brain that I could fix... Wait, that's not true, cos there's so, so much that needs fixing in there. Anyway, one of the things I'd like to change is my language skills. I can only assume that I'm one of those immersion learners, and books just don't cut it. Already I can feel my brain trying to understand, and I can glean out a word or two here and there. I've already managed to outread my two travel companions on menus, though that's not saying much. By the way, a word of advice-- never travel with marketing people or salesmen, is all I have to say. Unless your soul is already gone, in which case it matters not.

Everyone I've met at the plant so far has been really nice. Most of my talking (because he's the best with English in the department) has been Alex, who is a spitting image of the lead singer of Sugar Ray.

All in all the day has gone pretty fast, as I'd hoped. The faster the day goes, the less I miss those I've left behind at home. The more I sit idle, the more depressing it gets. Like now, sitting here typing. Sucks. Rocks. [singing] "Ich m�chte gerade fliegen..."

Oh that reminds me-- H wanted me to find her a rock.

If all goes well tomorrow and we stay 'ahead of schedule' - whatever that means; marketing agents with schedules? For what? Is there some sort of BS schedule one has to follow? - Wednesday might be a travel day, and the boss' mom, who's about to turn 80, keeps saying that we should go see the mountains. Never one to disrespect my elders, I wholeheartedly agree. Here's hoping.

1020pm

Guten tag, y'all. Just in from dinner and a bout of sampling some of the Bavarian region's finest brew. Have re-discovered that I am a beer lightweight. Wait! That's not entirely true. I'm sure I could have continued drinking had I been out with anyone remotely more interesting than someone half-caring about the town and wishing there were a strip club nearby. Best part of the evening was our dinner waitress, who (though I never caught her name) was quite cute and spoke English rather well, though she didn't think so. Compliments! Girls love that.

Did I mention that I'd been drinking? I'd consider going out again, but I really don't want to go out alone and don't want to go out with the marketing twins. Sigh. Oh to have a compatriot with which to stumble around a tiny walled Germanic town. Doesn't everyone have that problem?

-- End Transmission --


Reading:
finishing DT VII

Hearing:


Feeling:





CURRENT TERROR ALERT LEVEL:
Terror Alert Level

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


The Recent Past

In Rainbows - 2008-02-19
DnD 4.0 Goes Web 2.0 - 2008-02-05
Religion Quiz - 2008-01-22
Song Idea - 2008-01-18
Oughta Be In Pictures - 2007-11-29


Who links to me?








last - next