Xinpheld�s Soapbox


Other Diarists
Mimi Smartypants
Unquiet Desperation
mistresslink
WWdN: In Exile
Duffiemoon
julival
KB Lincoln








NaNoWriMo 2006 Participant

xinpheld. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr


navigation
current
archives
profile
surveys
Nine-Toed Friends

extras
links
rings
H*R
Common Dreams

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Xinpheld's Shopbox - CafePress Happiness!!

Ware
2005-03-15,

March is half over already? Damn! How did that happen? (The clock keeps spinning, stupid, that's how.) Time is moving a lot faster than I'd like. We still have a basement to work on, budgets to clear up, a business to get rolling, a princess to murder... Oh, and did I mention that I'm going to Germany?

Yep, adding a new turn to the journey is a trip to Munich for the company I work for. I'm going to be there for three days during the first week of April. It's five days, including flight time and such, Saturday to Thursday. While it's probably going to be a cool trip, I've nervous that it's going to be the same week that we get our inventory in for the business. This seems less and less likely, though, as time passes. We're supposed to be getting a list of incoming stuff right after it ships, and it's supposed to be in 20-45 days after that. I'd have to be on its way now - or just about to be - and be here at the soonest possible for it to happen at this point and thus be a serious problem. So I guess I shouldn't worry about that so much then, eh? See how these journal things are helpful for clearing your head?

Anyway, this'll be my first trip to Europe, first trip overseas at all. As a matter of fact, I've only been on one plane trip at all so far - to Florida, over 10 years ago. So I'm still an aviation newbie and, yes, pathetically under-traveled. Busyness aside, though, this is actually going to be a good thing. I'm seeing it as a practice run for China. It's not going to be nearly as long a trip as China will be, but then, you have to work your way up to a marathon, no? I already plan on being a good tourist and taking a gazillion pictures. I wonder if I'll need electric plug adapters? I've gotta recharge the camera batteries somehow.

If all goes well and I manage to have some sort of internet access while there, I'll try and keep y'all posted. Boy, I sound like I'm leaving tomorrow. Chill, boy!

Meanwhile, I've got some painting to do tonight. Actually, I have some patching to do tonight, first. There are a few tiny cracks that I'd like to see cemented over in the basement before we put walls up in front of it for all eternity. The whole area around that section of the basement has already been treated for potential water issues, but I'd rather be safe. After that, painting. Well, not so much painting as sealing and mold-preventing. Last night I took out some makeshift shelving that's been there since time began, I think. Amazing the dirt and stuff that can collect behind something that's supposed to be up against the wall. I can now attest to the sheer pleasure of destruction using a big-ass crow bar. Surely, this is the most interesting topic about which you've ever read in your life.

[Benevolent Superior Being's note: amateur TV critic rambling ahead]

I've been enjoying watching Medium lately, one of the few new shows I'm bothering with. There's something very... basic about the show that I like. The stories are very easy (mysterious situation, human conflict, convolution... Ding! Psychic girl finds sudden, serendipitous resolution that saves the ending!), but it seems that, rather than slack off and crank out ripped-from-the-headlines drivel, the writers decided to use up their leftover time on character interaction. The dialogue's not stellar, but the concepts and emotions behind the words are very human-- though the husband character is a little too snarky, quippy, gruffly handsome and SuperDad-y to be real. He was obviously designed to be a draw for the Domestic Career females that are probably the major fan base for the show. It's like Law and Order for soccer moms. And yet I watch it. I guess I'm a sucker for psychic stuff. Plus, it's nice to see that Patricia Arquette has made it so far along in the industry with such non-Hollywood teeth.

Oh, and ware the Ides of March. No, seriously-- watch out for these guys, they're scary.

-- End Transmission --


Reading:
DT VII

Hearing:
canned standards

Feeling:
nominal




CURRENT TERROR ALERT LEVEL:
Terror Alert Level

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


The Recent Past

In Rainbows - 2008-02-19
DnD 4.0 Goes Web 2.0 - 2008-02-05
Religion Quiz - 2008-01-22
Song Idea - 2008-01-18
Oughta Be In Pictures - 2007-11-29


Who links to me?








last - next