Xinpheld�s Soapbox


Other Diarists
Mimi Smartypants
Unquiet Desperation
mistresslink
WWdN: In Exile
Duffiemoon
julival
KB Lincoln








NaNoWriMo 2006 Participant

xinpheld. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr


navigation
current
archives
profile
surveys
Nine-Toed Friends

extras
links
rings
H*R
Common Dreams

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Xinpheld's Shopbox - CafePress Happiness!!

Bookmarks the Spot, Blogger
2005-03-04,

For some reason, each book I read ends up having its own unique bookmark. It's not a process I go through, either, this bookmark-choosing. Sometimes it's the receipt from the book's purchase (or rental, iffin it's from the library), sometimes it's someone's business card, sometimes it's an expired note from near the phone. Usually, it's whatever happened to be near and kidnappable for the purpose. What a horrid fate some pieces of paper have met: thinking that their lives were to be spent quietly on a notepad or sandwiched snugly between a shell magnet from Florida and the front of our refrigerator (a.k.a. fridge), eventually to fall gently into a wastebasket to await its due recycling process-- only to be thrust rudely and hastily between other pages of someone else's words, sometimes left there, sometimes lost behind a shelf or nightstand when set aside during reading, to collect dust and wait as the words it holds slowly fade into illegibility. Oh cruel providence!

The reason I mention is because I vainly quick-scoured my line-of-vision of the track that, in its attempt to prepare for work, my morning-based existence creates, for a bookmark victim. Even though properly forewarned about the possibility of causing the volume to take flight out the nearest open (or even closed) window by friends who know better, I am finally going to finish the Dark Tower series. I got book VII from the library on Wednesday along with a DVD copy of the movie version of the play, 'Camelot', which I've not yet seen (in any format), and a couple of CDs. Eventually I won't have to ride on my wife's check-out card, as it's 'food for fines' month. I owe a pretty decent chunk of change, as I recall.

New topic: online writing definitions, according to my will and whim. Mainly, I wanted to point out the difference, in my view, between online diaries, journals and (blech) blogs. This came up in my swirling noggin while reading the diary of Ms. Pants. Here goes:

  1. diary - (online) expressing emotions and concerns, thoughts and feelings, within the context of one's experiences.


  2. journal - (online) there are two categories of journal
    • philosophical - writing in the effort of understanding and sharing concepts/ideas with others, for constructive and creative growth; and
    • literary - writing for the sake of writing, as a creative outlet for such, whatever format in which it might be.

  3. blog - two categories of this, as well:
    • 'twitch' diary - a quippy, ADD-style, minute-to-minute update of goings on, usually peppered with humor and pictures; and
    • partisan journalism - 'attack dog', accreditationless pundits spewing talking points, slanted news or downright lies, not unlike the newspapers of McKinley's Sedition era.

Mine lies somewhere between diary and philosophical journal. I think. Which is pretty much where I wanted to be. Not that I don't write for the sake of writing sometimes, but I think it's more an effort to try and keep my brain alive more than anything. The less I write in here, the dumber I feel, only because, other than my interaction with my marvelous family, my life is pretty stunted right now. Not unhappy, just limited in scope. The lack of outside stimulus is getting noticeable. I'm not liking it. And there's so much to do, with the business and the room-building and all, that there's little hope it's going to change anytime soon. Ah well. At least we can still play robot in the kitchen.

Really, I don�t know how I survived all this time without having a notebook computer around the house, not to mention around the (whenever possible) everywhere. Who can say no to WiFi-hunting (the little-known sequel to Good Will Hunting? Web surfing in the bedroom? Watching TV shows on my lunch hour! I've managed to finally catch up with Enterprise by watching file versions that I torrented off the internet and put on Lappy to watch during lunch. I may have to catch up with other shows this way, eventually. Really, if it weren't for the internet, I wouldn't have been able to watch Enterprise at all this year. Or last year.

Not that there's much of it left to watch, as it's been cancelled by UPN, effective the end of the viewing year. Which is too bad, because it'd gotten much better for the most part this year. Naturally, there's a nerd/geek mob trying to grass-roots the show onto another network, like Sci-Fi. What's frightening is that they're aiming to 'raise funds' to try and finance another season themselves. Egad! They've raised something like three million dollars already! How is it that there's so much disposable money floating around? I can only hope that, after this effort fails, they'll do something constructive with the funds, like donate it to tsunami relief. Again I say, egad.

Feeling bored? Want to hurt your eyes? Click.

-- End Transmission --


Reading:
The Dark Tower

Hearing:
The Pleasure of My Company by Steve Martin

Feeling:
happy it's Friday




CURRENT TERROR ALERT LEVEL:
Terror Alert Level

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


The Recent Past

In Rainbows - 2008-02-19
DnD 4.0 Goes Web 2.0 - 2008-02-05
Religion Quiz - 2008-01-22
Song Idea - 2008-01-18
Oughta Be In Pictures - 2007-11-29


Who links to me?








last - next