Xinpheld�s Soapbox


Other Diarists
Mimi Smartypants
Unquiet Desperation
mistresslink
WWdN: In Exile
Duffiemoon
julival
KB Lincoln








NaNoWriMo 2006 Participant

xinpheld. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr


navigation
current
archives
profile
surveys
Nine-Toed Friends

extras
links
rings
H*R
Common Dreams

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Xinpheld's Shopbox - CafePress Happiness!!

For All the Wrong Reasons
2003-06-20, 1:14 a.m.

(author's note: Sigh. Lost a whole damn journal entry to 'Page Not Found'. That'll teach me to not pre-enter this stuff in Notepad. Let's try this again and this time I'll pare down the rambling. Or not.)

It might be for all the wrong reasons, but it's still pretty nifty to be able to look yourself up on Amazon.com. (Since they don't have a picture of the cover, I have one handy here.) I say 'all the wrong reasons' because I'm no longer a part of the Otherworlds "team". As a matter of fact, they've made a habit out of screwing me over financially (me among others). Feel free to go spit on their site if you like. Seems lately, though, there's been a rash of lawsuits concerning just that. After that, it only took a small conversation to get some money flowing in my direction. Granted, I haven't actually seen said money yet, but I'm told it's in process. I'll actually believe it when I see it.

I'd be more upset about it all, except for the fact that it was such a positive experience for me, the writing and editing and continuity editing. When I was offered the chance to write my half of D:SotN vol. I (the Gadianti half, in case you wanted to know) I jumped on it, and then found myself completely overwhelmed. But I managed to finish it, and even, I think, made it sound like there was someone behind it that might have even known what he was doing. Then editing came along, as well as continuity, making sure that everyone else's stories and ideas synched up with what existed and what was being created. This went well, except for, of course, the creator, who never bothered to share what he was doing until it was nearly to late to correct and made conflits with other people's writing. Really, near the end it was more myself and the writers that were the real creative force behind the Diomin project. This makes me wonder if that wasn't the cause of the creator's seeming sudden lack of interest in keeping Diomin alive; it wasn't really his baby anymore. I mean, we tried to keep him informed of what was happening and/or changing and/or developing, and he always had final say. He told us that it wasn't selling well, whih I'm sure had nothing to do with the fact that he'd all but stopped promoting it in any way. I guess I never thought about it that way. But then, I always had a hard time picturing him caring that much about it even from the start. I dunno.

Anyway, I'm still proud of my work, and it still was the driving force behind my interest in persuing an editing career (into which I have yet to venture). One thing of which all of this reminds me, though, is that I'm in serious need of a creative outlet. I've been so wrapped up in other problems that, other than picking up the ukulele this year, I've not really addressed the need. Hopefully that'll change soon, maybe as soon as Monday. I'll find out on Friday. Yes, I know the date indicates Friday, but it's still really Thursday for me. The day doesn't change til I sleep, or at 5am, if I don't sleep at all.

By the way, do you like the nifty altered graphic up top? It's OK, but I think I'll tinker with it more later. Thank you, Photoshop.

--End Transmission (again) --

Reading:


Hearing:


Feeling:





CURRENT TERROR ALERT LEVEL:
Terror Alert Level

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


The Recent Past

In Rainbows - 2008-02-19
DnD 4.0 Goes Web 2.0 - 2008-02-05
Religion Quiz - 2008-01-22
Song Idea - 2008-01-18
Oughta Be In Pictures - 2007-11-29


Who links to me?








last - next