Xinpheld�s Soapbox


Other Diarists
Mimi Smartypants
Unquiet Desperation
mistresslink
WWdN: In Exile
Duffiemoon
julival
KB Lincoln








NaNoWriMo 2006 Participant

xinpheld. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr


navigation
current
archives
profile
surveys
Nine-Toed Friends

extras
links
rings
H*R
Common Dreams

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Xinpheld's Shopbox - CafePress Happiness!!

A Problem of Choice
2003-11-10, 10:37 a.m.

Whelp, we went and saw Matrix Revolutions yesterday. I, like my wife, don't see why everyone hates it. Sure, it certainly had its flaws, pacing problems, etc. And I also feel like I'd missed out on something by having not played Enter the Matrix, as if the movie picked up from that rather than Reloaded. But it was still enjoyable. I really liked the intertwining of multiple mythologies, from Greek to Hindu to hardcore Old Testament.

Some complained about the open-endedness of the finale. Apart from leaving room for the Matrix Online, I think it also lent toward the viewer being able to carry away from the story whatever they felt like putting into it. Some see ass-kicking and cool effects, some saw a weak attempt at being poignant or philosophical. Heck, both of those are true. But I also saw it as another facet of the story that is The Great Struggle. Good/Evil is there sure, but so is the struggle between Law and Chaos, in their purest senses. In it I see Heaven vs. Hell, Rich vs. Poor, whathaveyou.

But then there's the Problem of Choice, which brings in the third, undiscussed matter of Quality. Look at Neo's choice in the Architect's room from Reloaded-- There's choice A (save Zion), Choice B (destroy Matrix).... but then there's something else, the (I think) real underriding theme of the story: the understanding, The Quality of the choice. As the Oracle said, you can't see past your choice if you don't understand it. As Merv (I love it when Trinity calls him that) said, the power is in the 'why'.

Once again, I am made to want to dive back into Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance. I hope I can find the time. Or an audiobook version.

-- End Transmission --


Reading:


Hearing:


Feeling:





CURRENT TERROR ALERT LEVEL:
Terror Alert Level

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


The Recent Past

In Rainbows - 2008-02-19
DnD 4.0 Goes Web 2.0 - 2008-02-05
Religion Quiz - 2008-01-22
Song Idea - 2008-01-18
Oughta Be In Pictures - 2007-11-29


Who links to me?








last - next