Xinpheld�s Soapbox


Other Diarists
Mimi Smartypants
Unquiet Desperation
mistresslink
WWdN: In Exile
Duffiemoon
julival
KB Lincoln








NaNoWriMo 2006 Participant

xinpheld. Get yours at bighugelabs.com/flickr


navigation
current
archives
profile
surveys
Nine-Toed Friends

extras
links
rings
H*R
Common Dreams

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
design

Xinpheld's Shopbox - CafePress Happiness!!

Change Is Bad
2003-10-27, 9:47 p.m.

Wham.

No, not the 80's pop duo. It's the sound the phone message made as it hit me in the face when I got home from work.

Of course, I don't know exactly when we got it, as I still haven't reset the clock on it since the last power flash. Regardless, there it was. Just last August my friends, one of whom I've known since 7th grade, got married. I was the best man.

Now they're getting un-married.

Sure, half of marriages are doomed to fail. The thing is, though, they've been together for at least 9 years, and at least half of that (I think) spent living together. I was just not expecting this.

Unfortunately, I think I know why this happened-- I won't go into it here (or anywhere else), however, out of respect and friendship, so don't ask. And it certainly doesn't make it any easier, the knowing. But again, I wasn't expecting it. It makes me wonder whether the whole wedding thing, after so long being together, wasn't a bad idea. It's like that pipe underneath the sink that you know drips a little, but if you try and fix it it'll just break altogether and you'll have to replace it. Sometimes things are better left unchanged-- just get some duct tape, ya know?

I am about to take a vow here, based on this sudden news and based on history. I have been a best man exactly twice now, and exactly twice the marriage has dissolved within 3 months. I vow, therefore, never to be a best man again. Ask me to sing at your wedding? Fine; I've done that more than once and no harm done (at least that I know of). Usher? Sure. I'm not even sure that I should dabble in groomsman-- it might be too close to the action. Best to stay out of center stage.

Sigh.

I'd supply some countering happy news - and I know there is some, out there somewhere - but I don't know exactly whom it involves. I've read my wife's journal and it mentions that someone we know is now waxing pregnant. I assume it's a female. She did not, however, mention a name, and I haven't talked to her since this morning (she's at her orchestra rehearsal currently), so I have no idea who it is. I'm sure I'll be happy for whoever it might be, even if on the inside it'll make me feel like crap. Depending on the person, it will require a variable degree of happiness, and if it's who I think it might be, I'll be super-happy. But I guess I'll just have to wait an hour till my wife gets home.

Once again, sigh.

-- End Transmission --


Reading:


Hearing:


Feeling:





CURRENT TERROR ALERT LEVEL:
Terror Alert Level

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


The Recent Past

In Rainbows - 2008-02-19
DnD 4.0 Goes Web 2.0 - 2008-02-05
Religion Quiz - 2008-01-22
Song Idea - 2008-01-18
Oughta Be In Pictures - 2007-11-29


Who links to me?








last - next